My first visit to Rainbow Gardens in San Antonio, Texas was back in 1994. My family had moved from East Texas. We lived in an apartment for 8 months until the house was built. Thousand Oaks was a street lined with apartments and nestled in between all these apartments was this small garden nursery. It was my refuge from all the surrounding asphalt. This is where I first learned about xeriscaping and Texas native plants. The front entrance looks deceptively small but today the nursery has expanded to six acres at the Thousand Oaks location and 5 acres at the Bandera Rd. location.  They specialize in the use of Native and Xeriscape plants in the San Antonio landscape. Rainbow Gardens  also have a extensive shade and ornamental tree selection, including natives and exotics that do well here. Another area of specialty at their location is the use of desert southwestern landscaping.Not only do they have a wide assortment of plants, they also have beautiful pots, yard art and gifts. Yesterday, I made my first Fall visit and they had all their shrubbery and trees 40% off. Which is great because in our area Fall is a great time to plant. I always know I will come home with a few goodies. Check out Pam at Digging to see other garden bloggers’ favorite nurseries.