Our rivers and beautiful live oaks are hurting. I have started watering our trees. We have cedar elm, live oaks, red oak, pin oaks and mountain ash in our yard. I did some research online trying to find the best way to water large trees. I found that a sprinkler or irrigation system that you use to water your grass or plants is not enough. After all my reading I found the most talked about were these three methods: 1) a soaker hose circled around the tree along the dripline (not close to the trunk) 2) divide the dripline area around the tree into four sections and use a dripping hose in each section 3) setting  5 gallon buckets with holes drilled in the bottom  filled with water around the dripline. My biggest question was how much water or how long for the hoses? I just recently stumbled upon this pdf file put out by City of Austin that gives you a formula for figuring out how much water a tree needs. I hope it helps you too. Jim and I walked down to the Guadalupe River today and was saddened to see just how dry the river was.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the rock you see is usually the river bottom. This is a favorite run for tubers but not now. We got about 1/4″ of rain Tuesday afternoon. It wasn’t much but I will take any I can get. Watching the radar that day, at least some areas got more than we did. Take care of your trees too!

